Characters

Too many characters spoil the book.  Too many names for a reader to remember can suck the fun out of a read.  Too many characters in a story are like too much salt in a recipe, overpowering.  A category romance only requires two.  More may be superfluous.  A murder mystery needs one corpse, one sleuth, and two to five suspects.  Can you make it happen with that?  A profound writer probably can produce brilliant prose with the minimum.  Just a thought.

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
This entry was posted in Writing tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Characters

  1. mjpappano says:

    I wouldn’t recommend only two characters in a category romance, only because it’s hard! I’ve done a couple books where the hero and heroine were in hiding for some reason and there were only rare glimpses of other characters. You have to really love them to manage a whole book that way!

    But I agree wholeheartedly on the too-many thing. I only want to see people who are important to the story (or, in the case of a series, the next story). I’ve read books where we get point of view from people who show up for five minutes, then are never seen again. Hate that!

Leave a Reply

