MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour

AUTHOR/CHARACTER INTERVIEW

by Jean Henry Mead

Sarah Cafferty is one of two amateur sleuths in the Logan and Cafferty mystery/suspense series. She wasn’t in her usual self in the third novel, MURDER ON THE INTERSTATE and the author wanted to know why.

Author: Sarah, why are you so cranky in this novel? You’ve shown good humor in the previous two books. You’re too old for PMS.

Sarah: Cranky? What do you expect? You send a killer to chase us and cause Dana to crash our new motorhome to escape from him. Then you cause us to be nearly swept away in a flash flood. The downpour scared me so badly that I irrigated my underwear.

Author: I’m sorry, Sarah. I know it was traumatic, but you have to admit that it was suspenseful.

Sarah: And where were you while we were getting soaked to our knees and nearly drowned? Sitting in your comfortable chair thinking up ways to get us into deeper trouble.

Author: That’s my job, Sarah. Would you rather I replaced you with a younger sleuth?

Sarah: Over my dead bod—You know that Dana and I are only 60 and not some elderly widows with walkers. We can do everything that younger sleuths can do.

Author: Well—

Sarah: With the possible exception of skateboarding and scaling tall buildings with ropes.

Author: I was thinking of having you bungee jump in the next novel.

Sarah: Unless you’re joking, Dana and I are taking a hiatus from your mystery series.

Author: What about our readers? You don’t want to disappoint them, do you?

Sarah: Haven’t we done enough? In THE VILLAGE SHATTERED you send a serial killer after us, in DIARY OF MURDER a vicious drug gang and in MURDER ON THE INTERSTATE you have a homegrown terrorist group kidnap us while they’re planning to take down the entire country. How can you possibly top that?

Author: I’ve got some ideas that will knock your socks off.

Sarah: That settles it! You can email Dana and me in Brazil. That’s where we’re going on vacation. If we don’t answer, you’ll know that some other novelist has decided to adopt us and treat us fairly.

Author: You’ll be bored in a week and out of a job within a month. Novelists who are nice to their protagonists don’t last long in the publishing business. Readers want suspense as well as mystery.

Sarah: I’ve got a great idea. You can take my place and I’ll write you into some mysterious and suspenseful situations. You’ll love bungee jumping over a crocodile pit or waking up with rattlesnakes. I can think of lots of exciting situations to place you in.

Author:  Point taken, Sarah. From now on we’ll concentrate on mystery and go easy on the suspense.

Jean Henry Mead is a mystery/suspense and western historical novelist. She’s also an award-winning photojournalist. One of her fortes is interviewing writers, actors, politicians, artists and ordinary people who have accomplished extraordinary things.

She began her writing career as a California news reporter/editor/photographer, first in Central California and later in San Diego. Mead later transferred to Casper, Wyoming, to serve as a staff writer for the statewide newspaper. While there she served as editor of In Wyoming Magazine and two small presses. She also freelanced for other publications, both domestic and abroad, among them the Denver Post’s Empire Magazine. Her first book was published in 1982. She’s since published fourteen novels and nonfiction books.

Visit her webpage at: www.jeanhenrymead.com/

And her blog sites:

Mysterious Writers: http://mysteriouspeople.blogspot.com/

Writers of the West: http://writersofthewest.blogspot.com/
Murderous Musings: http://murderousmusings.blogspot.com/
Make Mine Mystery: http://makeminemystery.blogspot.com/

Sharon is guest blogging today with Mystery Author Vivian Zabel at:  htttp://vivianzabel.blogspot.com

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Mystery We Write Tour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour

  1. sharonervin says:

    For some reason, this didn’t load as easily as the others, but it’s up now, Jean, and I am delighted to have you here for the week. Thank you.

  2. I loved this blog. Really brought out the personalities of the ladies. Gotta read this book, I bet I’d love it. Great blog, ladies!

  3. Marja McGraw says:

    What a delightful interview, and funny, too. I just ordered Murder on the Interstate. Can’t wait to get started on it.

  4. Vivian Zabel says:

    I just love this interview. After reading the first novel, I can believe Sarah’s responses. Thanks for a fun read.

    Vivian

  5. Jackie King says:

    Jean, What an amusing interview. I loved geting acquainted with the feisty Sarah. MURDER ON THE INTERSTATE is downloaded an on my TBR pile.

    Jackie

  6. Thanks, gals. It’s fun writing about Dana Logan and Sarah Cafferty. They seem like old friends. I hope you enjoy reading about them and their adventures. 🙂

  7. EARL STAGGS says:

    That was fun. I fell in love with both Sarah and Dana in MURDER ON THE INTERSTATE. Jean, if Sarah makes good on her threat to move to Brazil, heck, that’s okay. There are lots of dangerous people and situations to write them into there.

    • Thanks, Earl. Brazil would be a great setting to place Sarah and Dana in danger, and I’d have to go there for research. Thanks again for the very nice book review you wrote for Murder on the Interstate.

  8. You have a lovely site, Sharon. Thanks for hosting my guest blog. I’m sorry you had so much truoble posting it.

  9. ellisv says:

    What fun! A different sort of interview and interesting characters/people to meet. I’ll have to read the books. Good post, Jean.

  10. I loved this interview! Having read the book I can easily believe that this is exactly what Sarah and Dana had to say.

    Marilyn

  11. Dawn Brazil says:

    That interview was genius and made me want to read the books!!! Great!!!!

  12. Thank you, Ellisy. I’ve enjoyed writng the series and injecting humor into my books although the themes have all been serious. I think humor and a little romance prevents a mystery/suspense novel from becoming a melodrama.

  13. I’m glad you liked the interview as well as the book, Marilyn. And thank you also for the great review! It’s good to hae you back from Arizona.

  14. Jacqueline Seewald says:

    Very creative interview.

  15. Thanks, Jacqueline. I’m sure Sarah thanks you as well. 🙂

  16. A fun interview, Jean. Dana and Sarah definitely sound like gals I want to spend some time with.

  17. sharonervin says:

    Readers are loving this unique blog. Thanks, Jean, for making me a hero.

  18. Thanks again to you, Sharon, from both Sarah and me. This has certainly been a fun experience being here. 🙂

  19. Those characters can get so cheeky! Nice interview, Jean!

  20. Pingback: MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour – Week 5 | Sharon Ervin's Blog

  21. Thank you, Jenny. They’re like old friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

