MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour – Week 5

MY WRITING MUSE

by Marilyn Meredith

Exactly what is a muse? In my thesaurus it states that it’s another word for inspiration. Frankly, inspiration seems to be more of what I’d call what moves me forward while I’m beginning to write a new book. Inspiration is also what keeps me going as I plod along, putting words down on paper, creating a scene and developing the characters.

Because I’m writing two books a year which is what I need to do because I’m writing two mystery series, I need to be bombarded with inspiration.

My latest book is in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series. This series centers around a small police department in beach community located between Ventura and Santa Barbara in California and stars the officers and their families. In the latest few books, Officer Stacey Wilbur, a widow with a young son, and Detective Doug Milligan have been romantically involved. When I began writing ANGEL LOST I knew that it was time for these two to tie the knot and that I’d be writing about their wedding.

Because I’m writing a mystery and not a romance novel, I had to figure out what would be the main plot to weave all the other plot lines around—and it had to focus on Stacey and her wedding plans. Of course things could not go smoothly and I knew from the beginning that my heroine would find herself in danger.

The nightly appearance of an angel on a furniture window involves many of the officers on the Rocky Bluff P.D. and their families and ultimately has a major impact on the story. The inspiration for this unusual event came from a similar happening in a nearby town which brought hundreds of people every night to view the phenomena and kept two police officers busy keeping everyone safe.

Since ANGEL LOST has come out, of course much of my time has been spent promoting it on the web and in person. In the meantime, I’ve also been drawing on my muse, looking for inspiration, for the next Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery—which of course, is a topic for a whole other blog post.

ABOUT MARILYN MEREDITHF.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of nearly thirty published novels. Her latest in the Rocky Bluff P.D. crime series, from Oak Tree Press, is ANGEL LOST. Marilyn is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, including the Internet chapter, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Visit  her athttp://fictionforyou.com and her blog athttp://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com

Blurb about ANGEL LOST:

As plans for her perfect wedding fill her mind, Officer Stacey Wilbur is sent out to trap a flasher, the new hire realizes Rocky Bluff P.D. is not the answer to his problems, Abel Navarro can’t concentrate on the job because of worry about his mother, Officer Gordon Butler has his usual upsets, the sudden appearance of an angel in the window of a furniture store captures everyone’s imagination and causes problems for RBPD, and then the worst possible happens—will Stacey and Doug’s wedding take place?

Reader comment on ANGEL LOST:

“A pervert threatens women joggers on the beach, a robber threatens wealthy homes on the bluff, and an angel watches over the townspeople from a downtown window.  F. M. Merediths’ latest Rocky Bluff P. D. novel is a gentle human drama about loneliness and change, through which the reader is pulled, page after page, by an assortment of compelling criminal curiosities.” –C. N. Nevets, author of psychological suspense.

Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/Angel-Lost-F-M-Meredith/dp/1610090055/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1298555064&sr=1-1

Sharon is guest blogging today with Mystery Author Regan Taylor at:  http://regantaylorsworld.blogspot.com

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son’s law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.

This entry was posted in Mystery We Write Blog Tour Week 5. Bookmark the permalink. Edit
Be the first to like this post.

Leave a Reply

Enter your comment here…
Gravatar
sharonervin

You are commenting using your
WordPress.com account. (Log Out)

 Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Mystery We Write Tour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour – Week 5

  1. Jackie king says:

    Hi Marilyn and Sharon, Another great post in the 2011 Murder We Wrote Blog tour! Great books, great writers. Thanks to both of you.
    Jackie

  2. I enjoy reading Marilyn’sbooks and still marvel at her energy and ability to write two series a year while traveling extensively.

  3. Thank you so much for hosting me, Sharon. It’s been a pleasure sharing with you. And really, I don’t have all that much energy–I just decide what I’m going to do and do it. I’m an early riser and consequently also go to bed early.

    Marilyn

  4. Pat Browning says:

    Early rising must be the key to your productivity, Marilyn. That and a helpful husband like Hap. Sorry to keep harping on Hap but I’m such a fan of both of you. In my mind you’re a winning team!

    Pat Browning

  5. Yes, a helpful husband does make a lot of difference. Another author was just saying that to me this morning, after her husband had a bad fall and now she has to do everything plus take care of him now. That does cut way down on productivity. Been there, did that. Miss all the help terribly. Angel Lost is a must read for me, having read one of Marilyn’s books. She has a new fan in me.

  6. Oh, Pat, you are such a sweetie, and you and Beth are correct, having a helpful husband does make a big difference. Always happy to gather a new fan!

    Marilyn

  7. Vivian Zabel says:

    I’m trying one more time, but if my comment won’t appear this time, I’m not trying again.

    I enjoyed the post.

  8. sharonervin says:

    Good to have Vivian able to join us at last. I’m still learning the ropes here and enjoying the experiences.

  9. Great post! I find my muse only comes forth on her timetable. Not mine!

    I enjoyed reading this today
    Mary

  10. Marja McGraw says:

    Good post, Marilyn! I enjoyed Angel Lost so much, and I’m looking forward to picking up another of your books from my TBR stack soon. What fun it is to get to know more about authors whose work I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

