MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour – Week 9

MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour

Featuring VIVIAN ZABEL

Publisher – Editor – Author

The impulse to write is born in peculiar places. A struggling author is sometimes advised to write her nightmares. Writing is therapeutic in mitigating anger, grief, all sorts of emotional upheavals. Vivian Zabel combined a real-life nightmare, fear, anger, and grief to write STOLEN.

Vivian recalls: “At times, research for a novel comes through personal experience, as happened with STOLEN. I did do some extra research to add a section at the back of the story itself, but all the rest came from personal experience.

“Over 14 years ago, two of my grandchildren were taken by their father. We had no contact with  them, didn’t know where they were, didn’t know if they were alive or not. The pain nearly destroyed us…me. We loved them so much, and they were such major parts of our lives, my husband and I felt as if a chunk of our hearts had been ripped out. I can only imagine the agony their mother, our daughter, felt.”

To purge some of the pain and despair, Vivian used therapy with which she was familiar:  writing. STOLEN told the story and allowed Vivian to express the rage and terror, hopes raised and dashed. It grew into a full-fledged novel.

Eventually, she also employed the wide-ranging reach of the internet.

“Every year for 12 years, around the time they were last seen by anyone in the family,” Vivian says, “I blogged a letter to them, giving my contact information. A friend asked if he could spread my latest blog, November 2007, through the blogs of his friends around the world. Of course I agreed.

“Early in 2008, I received an e-mail that said, ‘I think you’re my grandmother.’

“Finally, the novel, STOLEN, is out and a sequel will be possible,” Vivian says. “Research for the sequel is completed. Hopefully in less than the ten years required for STOLEN, BETRAYED will be released.”

Memories of the years lost with her grandchildren and the days of pain live again in STOLEN, so vividly in the proofs, that the author says she cannot read the final result.

About Vivian Zabel: An editor for over thirty-five years, an English and writing teacher for nearly thirty years; an author with poetry, articles, short stories, and novels published over a span of forty-two years––with more than her share of rejections along the way––and the director of a small publishing company for over three years, Vivian has experienced both sides of the submission process. Diagnosed with  Lupus and Rheumatoid arthritis years ago, Vivian remains determined to do the things she loves. That determination prompted her to create 4RV, a publishing house to fill the gap between self-publishing and vanity presses and major publishers primarily interested in established authors.

Vivian has six books to her credit, two co-authored. Her latest books are PRAIRIE DOG COWBOY, written under the name V. Gilbert Zabel; MIDNIGHT HOURS,  written under the name Vivian Gilbert Zabel, and STOLEN, released in November 2010.

Buy Links are:

Vivian’s blog: http://vivianzabel.blogspot.com

Vivian’s website: http://VivianZabel.com

4RV Publishing   http://4rvpublishingllc.com

Stolen  http://Stolen.yolasite.com

Orders (other than from bookstores, online suppliers)  http://4rvpublishingcatalog.yolasite.com

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Mystery We Write Tour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MYSTERY WE WRITE Blog Tour – Week 9

  1. Jackie King says:

    Writing is my therapy, too, Vivian. Putting my heart on paper has gotten me through many things…most traumatic were a divorce when I was turning 50, and the death of my son in 2004. What I love about women is our ability to keep moving forward, even when we think we can’t.
    Best,
    Jackie King

  2. Another super interview on the 2011 Mystery We Write Blog Tour. Thanks ladies!

  3. Vivian Zabel says:

    Thank you, Sharon, for having me as a guest this week. I like what you did with the material.

    Vivian

  4. Pat Browning says:

    Kudos to Vivian. Thanks for sharing!
    Pat Browning

  5. Great blog, ladies! Vivian, I don’t know how you stood it all those years. You must be a very strong woman. I know you’re a good writer!

  6. Vivian Zabel says:

    Thank you, Anne, Pat, and Beth. I’m glad you stopped by and left comments.

    The choices we have when we go through rough times are really only two: give up and sink into a hole of despair and never live again; or pick up the pieces some way and rebuild our lives.

  7. Marja McGraw says:

    Wonderful blog, and I even like your comment about picking up the pieces. Very wise advise.

  8. Vivian Zabel says:

    Thanks, Marja, that’s how I try to live my life.

  9. sharonervin says:

    We seem to get and give sage advice.

  10. Vivian, I’m always happy to read more about you. You’re a great lady.

    Marilyn

  11. Vivian Zabel says:

    Marilyn, I appreciate your comment.

    Hi, Sharon. Takes for stopping by and joining the conversation. Writers are often quite bright, right?

  12. I was fascinated by Vivian’s story behind “STOLEN”. Good blog, Sharon!

  13. Vivian Zabel says:

    Sometimes we really do have to write what we know. Thanks for stopping by, Mary.

Leave a Reply

