My Amazon Rating System

When a seasoned author expressed disappointment at my rating his most recent work a “3” on Amazon, I wanted to explain. Here’s what I told him:

I’m sorry you were disappointed by my rating. We obviously do not consider the rating numbers the same. 

If I rate a book a “5,” that means it is EXQUISITE. I reserve fives for those books that when I’ve finished reading them, I want to turn back to the beginning and read them all over again. That happens rarely.

A “4” read to me is EXCEPTIONAL, full of surprises. 

A “3” is ENJOYABLE, entertaining, delightful, worth the time. 

A “2” is ALL RIGHT, better than most.

A “1” is FAIR, but a reader might do better to look elsewhere.

The books that I don’t like, I don’t read beyond the first three chapters and do not write reviews. If I can’t say something nice, I don’t comment.

My own books draw a range of rating numbers. The rank, like beauty, is in the eyes of the beholder. 

I like (his title). It made me want to read more of your books, and I will. If you prefer I not write reviews, I won’t. Maybe I should define my ratings for Amazon, so potential readers will understand. Recently, I read a book I thought rated a five. I just finished one I will rate a four. They are unusual. 

Again, I apologize for being on a different wave link. And, thanks for such an enjoyable read

 
About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Amazon Rating System

  1. Dear Sharon,The way you rank books you’ve reviewed fits very well with my views, but your words are a little more eloquent than mine.

    • sharonervin says:

      Dear Mary,

      If you and I lived closer and had time, we might be best friends.

      It’s one of the few disappointments of my life, that there are so many marvelous people I would love to know better, but time is too short.

      I fretted only last night that our oldest grandchild is graduating from high school this month. On his first night home from the hospital after he was born, his mom and dad woke me at 3 a.m. They were exhausted, had him in the room with them and couldn’t sleep because he made so much racket. Newborns do that. I was tickled pink. I slouched on the sofa, put him on my stomach and told him about dreams we all had for his future. We had more private time together that night than we have ever managed to have since. I kept thinking we’d share more special moments. Where has the time gone? He and I have done projects together, but not without distractions. Now he’s a man. This week he spared me a hug. It was brief. I love him more fiercely today than I did on that night 18 years ago.I ask again, where did the time go?

Leave a Reply

