ON HIS SIDE

ON HIS SIDE

When the resource officer picked the smart-mouthed 17-year-old girl up out of her classroom seat and hummed her across the floor, I said, “Good for him!”

Some people sided with her.

The officer was fired.

“He should have handled it differently.”

“Oh, yeah? How? She was disrupting the class, refused to cooperate, hand over her cellphone, or leave the room. She refused to follow rules everyone else had to follow.

“What should the teacher or the officer have done?”

Three days of pondering, one woman said, “They should have called her parents to come to the school to deal with her.”

I was skeptical.

As a parent, I got my bluff in early. By the time they were 17, my children had regard for authority. At age 12, my sons did not point toy guns at approaching police officers, or get shot and killed. Stopped by a traffic cop, my children spoke with respect and showed driver’s licenses on request. They did not have to be tazed out of a car, cuffed, and hauled off to jail.

My children got swats at home and in school. They needed judicious corporal punishment. We loved them enough to provide it. Little bottoms are engineered for spanking.

Scripture says a father disciplines the child he loves. Mothers do too.

Toddlers who learn respect at home do not have to be yanked out of a high school classroom. Let’s put corporal punishment back in our schools. American kids need it.

About sharonervin

I write novels for and about women. I work half-days in my husband and son's law office. A former newspaper reporter, I have a B.A. in journalism from the University of Oklahoma. I have four grown children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

